Tinkerbell (Disney) – 2008

(Use the Menu above to find more movie choices)

Tinkerbell
Tinkerbell

Summary:

When Tinkerbell first arrives in Pixie Hollow as a newborn fairy, Queen Clarion has her take a test to determine her fairy talent. The glowing hammer that indicates her talent as a tinker fairy glows blindingly bright, telling the others that her talent will indeed be a great one. At first, Tinkerbell is happy learning her trade. Then, she discovers the “lost things” that wash ashore from the mysterious mainland. Determined to join the nature fairies who travel to the mainland to bring spring, she decides to shun her tinker talent to learn one of the nature talents, so that she can go to the mainland and see where the lost things come from. This plan, however, proves disastrous to the point of ruining all of Pixie Hollow’s preparations for the big event. Tinkerbell realizes that the only way to repair the damage that she has done is to be true to herself, and to her friends.

Lessons:

Everyone has a talent. A person’s talent may not be as glamorous or majestic as they would like for it to be, but all are worthy of pride. Even small actions are important – it can take many workers doing little things to create something big. Be true to yourself and the unique skills that you have. Be creative, have fun with it, and keep trying for your goal. Everyone makes mistakes now and then, but it’s important to take responsibility for your actions and do your best to correct the mistakes that you make. Different people have different gifts. That’s what makes us who we are. While it is OK to admire someone else for their abilities, it is best to remember that dreams don’t come true by being something that you are not.

(If you have additional ideas on how this film can be used for educational purposes, please let us know in the comments below.)

Quotes:

Tinker Bell: The mouse’s name is Cheese?
Bobble: Must be. He always comes when we yell it.

**********

Tinkerbell: Guess what? I’ve decided, I’m not gonna be a tinker fairy anymore.

Rosetta:IridessaSilvermistFawn: What?

Tinkerbell: Well, I was thinking. Why do I have to be a tinker? Just because some silly hammer glowed? I mean, who’s to say it wasn’t just some big mistake? Maybe I can just switch my talent!

Rosetta: Switch your talent? I don’t know Tinkerbell.

Tinkerbell: If you could teach me your talent-any of them- maybe I can show the queen that I can work with nature too!*smacks bug, flicks it away* And then she’d let me go to the mainland for spring!

Rosetta: Oh Tinkerbell… that’s just not how it works!

Fawn: Well… maybe she could.

Silvermist: She’s right! She could!

Iridessa: Well… I’ve never heard anyone switching talents before…

Silvermist: She’s right! Me neither!

Tinkerbell: Look. You all do things that are beautiful and magical and… and important. But me… there’s gotta be more to my life than just pots and kettles. All I’m asking you is that you give me a chance.

**********

Tinker Bell: Thanks Terence.
Terence: You know my name?
Tinker Bell: Well, sure. Why wouldn’t I?
Terence: Well, I don’t know. I’m just the dust keeper guy. I’m not exactly seen as the most important fairy in Pixie Hallow.
Tinker Bell: Terence… what are you talking about? You’re probably the most important one there is. Without you, no one would have any magic! Why, your talent makes you who you are. You should be proud of it! I mean…
Terence: (with a sly grin) I am.

Leave a Reply

